Inclusive Story Time – Hispanic Heritage Month 2019

INCLUSIVE STORY TIME_ HISPANIC HERITAGE MONTH 2019

Books:

 La Princesa and the Pea by Susan Middle Elya

Dalia’s Wondrous Hair by Laura Lacamara

Counting Ovejas by Sarah Weeks

Flannel Game:

IMG_0623

I use this as a hide and seek game.  It’s fun and different because when we play hide and seek we usually just do it by color, but in this case we can also identify by pattern.

Flannel Rhyme:

IMG_0626

Three little gatitos

lost their mitoncitos

and they began to cry.

“Oh, Mami dear, we sadly fear

our mittens have been lost.”

IMG_0627

“Lost your mitten, you gatos malos, then you shall have no torta.”

“Miao, miao, miao!:

The little gatitos

found their mitoncitos

and they began to cry,

IMG_0628

“Oh, Mami dea, see here, see here,

our mittens have been found.”

“what? Found your mittens,

you gatos buenos

then you shall have some torta.”

“purr, purr, purr.

Credit:

IMG_6081

La Madre Goose: Nursery Rhymes for Los Ninos by Susan Middleton Elya and illustrated by #OwnVoices Juana Martinez-Neal

Flannel Activity:

Counting Ovejas

5338B83F-384F-402A-855F-DCCE2E853773

 

Scarf Rhyme:

Pretend the scarves are tortillas by slapping them back and forth in your  hands. Tell the kids we are going to make some for mom and dad then say this little rhyme.

Tortillitas para mamá

Tortillitas para papá

Las calientitas para mamá

Las doraditas para papá

Credit: The Latinx Librarian

Rhyme:

We enjoy Los Manos throughout the year, even when it’s not Hispanic Heritage Month, so I pulled it out again for this story time.

Los Manos

Saco una manito. La hago bailar, / I take out one hand. I make it dance. (Do a parade wave)
La cierro, la abro y la vuelvo a guardar. / I close it, I open it, and I put it away again. (close and open hand and put it in your lap)
Saco la otra manito. La hago bailar, / I take out the other hand. I make it dance.  (Do a parade wave with the 2nd hand)
La cierro, la abro y la vuelvo a guardar. / I close it, I open it, and I put it away again. (close and open 2nd hand and put it in your lap)
Saco las dos manitos. Las hago bailar, / I take out two hands. I make them dance. (Both hands parade wave)
Las cierro, las abro y las vuelvo a guardar. / I close them, I open them, and I put them away again. (Both hands close, open, put in lap)

Parachute Game:

Rules

“Each player holds the edge of the parachute at a certain color. The parachute is pulled taut outwards. When the teacher called out the word ‘arriba’ (hands up) the parachute was lifted up and vice versa for ‘abajo.’ (hands down) Sometimes when the parachute was lifted up the teacher would call out a color like ‘azul.’  All players who are holding the parachute on an ‘azul’ edge change places under the parachute. Several colors can also be called out at once.”

Credit: Spanish Simply

You can also use these words:

marcha (march)¬ and have them stop by saying para (stop). Do the same with the other actions: salta (jump),

Credit: Fun For Spanish Teachers

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started